The Christopher Ewart-Biggs Memorial Prize, worth £5,000, is awarded biennially.

Fergal Keane wins 25th Christopher Ewart-Biggs memorial prize for ‘Wounds’.

Marianne Elliott awarded special £5,000 prize for advancing understanding of Irish history in Britain.

The winner was announced on 11 April 2018, in Belfast.

The eligible work covered 2015, 2016 and 2017 and produced a wide and stimulating variety of entries.

More about the 2015 – 2017 prize.

‘Work’ is defined broadly. It has been won by works of history, politics, fiction, drama, journalism and memoir. See past winners.

The Prize recognizes work promoting and encouraging:

  • peace and reconciliation in Ireland
  • a greater understanding between the peoples of Britain and Ireland, or
  • closer co-operation between the partners of the European Community.