The presentation ceremony

The presentation ceremony rotates between Belfast, Dublin and London.

The presenter is usually a person whose own public or artistic achievement has contributed to the ideals and objectives of the Prize. In the past such presenters have included the poets Seamus Heaney and Michael Longley, the novelists Colm Toibin and Glenn Patterson, the politicians Lord Patten and Glenys Kinnock, the actor Fiona Shaw and the politician and poet Grey Gowrie.

Some of their speeches given when presenting the Prize:
2022 – 2023, 2011 – 2012, 2005 – 2006, 2001 – 2002, 1991 – 1992 and 1983.

The presentation ceremony is followed by a dinner for the prizewinner, judges and presenter.