Winners and shortlists

2022 – 2023
Lisa McGee, 3rd series of Derry Girls [Television series]
View shortlist and more about the winner
2020 – 2021
Gail McConnell, The Sun Is Open (Penned in the Margins) [Book]
View shortlist and more about the winner
2018 – 2019
Anna Burns, Milkman (Faber and Faber) [Book]
We also awarded a special prize of £7,500 to Katy Hayward for her journalism and commentary which analysed the Brexit process as it unfolded.
View shortlist and more about the winners
Read response from Anna Burns
Read response from Katy Hayward
2015 – 2017
Fergal Keane, Wounds (William Collins) [Book]
We also awarded a special prize of £5,000 to Professor Marianne Elliott for her achievement in advancing the understanding of Irish history in Britain.
View shortlist and more about the winners
2013 – 2014
Charles Townshend,  The Republic: the fight for Irish independence 1918-1923 (Allen Lane) [Book]
The Trust also awarded a special prize, in memory of Seamus Heaney, to the poet Colette Bryce for her book The Whole and Rain-domed-Universe (Picador).
View shortlist and more about the winners
Read speech by Sir Christopher Bland
2011 – 2012
Julieann Campbell, Setting the Truth Free: the inside story of the Bloody Sunday justice campaign (Liberties Press, 2012) [Book]
Douglas Murray, Bloody Sunday: truth, lies and the Saville Inquiry (Biteback Publishing, 2012) [Book]
Special Award: Peter Taylor [journalist and writer], for his work covering Northern Ireland over many years.
View shortlist and more about the winners
Read speech by Julieann Campbell
Read statement from Douglas Murray
Read speech by Olivia O’Leary
Press coverage
2009 – 2010
Timothy Knatchbull, From A Clear Blue Sky: surviving the Mountbatten bomb (Hutchinson, 2009) [Memoir]
Guy Hibbert and Oliver Hirschbiegel, Five Minutes of Heaven [BBC2, 5 April 2009] [Television Film]
View an interview with Timothy Knatchbull and read press releases announcing the shortlist and winner
2007 – 2008
David Park, The Truth Commissioner (Bloomsbury, 2007) [Novel]
Special Award: Fergus D’Arcy, for his Remembering the War Dead, published by the Government Stationery Office, Dublin, for the Office of Public Works, 2007
2005 – 2006
Richard English, Irish Freedom: a history of nationalism in Ireland (Macmillan, 2006) [History]
Special Award: Michael Longley [Poet]
Read presentation speech by Colm Toibin and see press coverage
2003 – 2004
Tom Dunne, Rebellions: Memoir, Memory and 1798 (Lilliput, 2004)
Special Award: Dr Garret FitzGerald [Politician and writer]
Shortlist included Richard Bourke, Peace in Ireland: the war of ideas (Pimlico Press)
2001 – 2002
The Linen Hall Library, Troubled Images: posters and images of the Northern Irish conflict (Exhibition, CD Rom and booklet), from the Library’s Northern Ireland Political Collection [Exhibition]
Read Grey Gowrie’s presentation speech and see press coverage
1999 – 2000
David McKittrick, Seamus Kelters, Brian Feeney, Chris Thornton, David McVeagh, Lost Lives; the stories of the men, women and children who died as a result of the Northern Ireland troubles (Mainstream Publishing, Cambridge, 1999) [Reportage/history]
See press coverage
1997 – 1998
Peter Hart, The IRA & its Enemies: Violence and Community in Cork 1916-1923 (Oxford University Press, 1998) [History]
1995 – 1996
Sebastian Barry, The Steward of Christendom (Royal Court Theatre, 1995, published Faber) [Play]
Norman Porter, Rethinking Unionism: An Alternative Vision for Northern Ireland (Blackstaff, 1996) [Politics]
See press coverage
1993 – 1994
Fionnuala O Connor, In Search of a State: Catholics in Northern Ireland (Blackstaff, 1993) [Sociology/journalism/interviews]
1991 – 1992
Brian Keenan, An Evil Cradling (Hutchinson, 1992) [Memoir]
Read Michael Longley’s presentation speech
1989 – 1990
John Whyte, Interpreting Northern Ireland (Oxford University Press, 1990) [Political Science]
Special Citation: Blackstaff Press [publisher]
1987 – 1988
David McKitterick, Body of work [Journalism]
Mary Holland, Body of work [Journalism]
Before 1987 the Prize was awarded annually
Frank McGuinness, Observe the Sons of Ulster Marching towards the Somme [First produced by Abbey Theatre, 1985; published by Faber] [Play]
Special Award: Hubert Butler [essayist]
View press coverage
Brian Friel, Translations [first performed Derry 1980; London productions at Hampstead and Lyttleton Theatres; published Faber] [Play]
Padraig O’Malley, The Uncivil Wars: Ireland Today (Blackstaff, 1984) [Journalism/interviews]
Oliver MacDonagh, States of Mind: a study of Anglo-Irish conflict 1780-1980 (Allen and Unwin, 1983) [History]
John Bowman, De Valera and the Ulster Question (Oxford University Press, 1983) [History]
Read presentation speech by Seamus Heaney
Fortnight Magazine, [Monthly Belfast journal]
F.S.L. Lyons, Culture and Anarchy in Ireland l880-1939 (Oxford University Press, 1979) [History]
Robert Kee, Ireland: A History [Television series and book]
Stewart Parker, I’m a Dreamer Montreal (ITV Playhouse, March 1979) [Television play]
Dervla Murphy, A Place Apart (John Murray, 1978) [Travel/journalism/history]
Michael MacGreil, Tolerance and Prejudice in Ireland (College of Industrial Relations, Dublin, 1977) [Sociology]
A.T.Q. Stewart, The Narrow Ground: Aspects of Ulster 1609-1969 (Faber 1977) [History]